Meet Lysa Taylor

authorLTphoto

Lisa was chosen as the Society of Independent Authors and Illustrators’ featured author.  She truly embodies all of the spirit and character of an emerging author, full of creativity and bursting with imagination.  Her work is more than captivating, it is absolutely spellbinding.  I had the pleasure of interviewing her for this blog.  Lysa will also be featured on our new social networking site  for authors.  Check out Lysa’s work and stay tuned for more great indie writers/authors!  Would you like to suggest a self published author?  Click here for more details.

How long have you been writing?

I would say my whole life but I don’t want it to sound like a cliché. I got serious about my writing when I was ten years old. This is around the time when I was really interested in African-American History. I wrote a book called the Birthday Wish. It was about a girl who made a wish to experience slavery so that she could have a better appreciation for her culture. I know that sounds like a crazy concept, but that was the first book I had ever written from start to finish.  My family told me that I had a gift for writing. It made me realize that I could write books just like the authors that I read about.

What is your most recent literary/artistic project?

I am participating in National Novel Writing month.  Also, I am currently writing my book entitled, The Sisters Eternal: Ava Faye. I am really excited that I stumbled across this event because it made me motivated to kick my writing into high gear.  I am more than half way finished writing it now, and I am pretty excited that I’ve gotten this far.

What inspires you to write?

Hmmm. I guess I like the fact that I can create worlds through the power of words. I have always had this huge imagination and I never knew what to do with it! Once I got into writing, I realized the immense power that an author has through the creativity that spills out through their pen onto paper. It’s amazing how an author can captivate an audience through words.

Who’s your favorite author and why?

I wouldn’t say that I have a favorite author, but I do have a favorite book.  It’s called Color of the Sea by John Hamamura. I really like this book because the way he described his characters made them come to life.  It was like I was in the WWII time period.  I could feel the character’s pain as he was torn between serving the American army against his home country of Japan.

What advice can you give to other authors or writers?

I would tell them to write every single day, even if it’s just one word or one sentence. I say this because writing is a craft.  If you don’t work at your craft every day then you won’t get better.

Where can readers go to find out more information about you or your work?

http://thesisterseternal.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/the-sisters-eternal-official-blog-launch/

One thought on “Meet Lysa Taylor

Leave a Reply

